The Regional Health Commission is an appointed body that is dedicated to ensuring the financial sustainability of the healthcare safety net in St. Louis, developing and sustaining an integrated health care system for those most in need, and serving as point-of-contact for State/Federal agencies regarding health care safety net issues. Members of the Commission are appointed by the following:  

  • 3 members by the Mayor of the City of St. Louis
  • 3 members by the St. Louis County Executive
  • 3 members by the community at large
  • 2 members by the Governor of Missouri
  • 2 members by the Federally Qualified Health Centers
  • 2 members by the RHC’s advisory boards
  • 2 members by local hospitals
  • 1 member by the local medical schools

Cheryl Walker (Chair)

Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila LLP

Susan Trautman (Vice-Chair) 

Executive Director
Great Rivers Greenway

Jeffrey Johnston (Treasurer)

President, East Communities 

Fred W. Rottnek, MD, MACHM (Chair, Provider Services Advisory Board)

Professor and Director of Community Medicine, Department of Family and Community Medicine
St. Louis University School of Medicine

Joe Yancey (Chair, Community Advisory Board)

Executive Director
Places for People

James Buford

Civic Leader

Angela Clabon

Chief Executive Officer
CareSTL Health

James P. Crane, MD

Associate Vice Chancellor for Special Projects
Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine

Steve Corsi, Psy.D.

Missouri Department of Social Services

Simone Cummings, Ph.D., MHA

Dean of the George Herbert Walker School of Business & Technology
Webster University

Alan Freeman

President & Chief Executive Officer
Affinia Healthcare

Candace Jennings

Regional President – Hospital Operations
SSM Health – St. Louis

Rich Liekweg

President & Chief Executive Officer
BJC HealthCare

Will Ross, MD

Associate Dean and Director of the Office of Diversity
Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine

Spring Schmidt

St. Louis County Public Health Department

Jennifer Tidball

Acting Director, MO HealthNet 
Deputy Director, Missouri Department of Social Services

Ronald Watermon

Vice President of Communications 
St. Louis Cardinals

Robert Fruend, Jr. (Ex Officio)

Chief Executive Officer
St. Louis Regional Health Commission