The Regional Health Commission is an appointed body of individuals dedicated to ensuring the financial sustainability of the health care safety net in St. Louis, developing and sustaining an integrated health care system for those most in need, and serving as point-of-contact for State/Federal agencies regarding health care safety net issues.

Commission Officers

3 members by the Community at Large

alt=“ “

Cheryl Walker


Attorney at Law
Walker Commercial Law Group, LLC

alt=“ “

Susan Trautman


Executive Director
Great Rivers Greenway

alt=“ “

Vacant Seat

3 members by the St. Louis County Executive

alt=“ “

Jeffrey Johnston 


East Communities 

alt=“ “

Spring Schmidt

St. Louis County Public Health Department

alt=“ “

Ronald Watermon

President, CEO &
Head Groundskeeper
Brand Journalism Strategies, LLC

3 members by the Mayor of the City of St. Louis

alt=“ “

Simone Cummings,
Ph.D., MHA

Dean of the George Herbert Walker School of Business & Technology
Webster University

alt=“ “

Frederick Echols, MD

St. Louis Department of Health

alt=“ “

Will Ross, MD

Associate Dean and Director of the Office of Diversity
Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine

2 Members by the RHC’s Advisory Boards

alt=“ “

Fred W. Rottnek, MD, MACHM

Chair, Provider Services Advisory Board

Professor and Director of Community Medicine, Department of Family and Community Medicine
St. Louis University School of Medicine

alt=“ “

Joe Yancey

Chair, Community Advisory Board

Mental Health Advocate
Places for People (retired)

2 Members by the Governor of Missouri

alt=“ “

Jennifer Tidball

Acting Director
Missouri Department of Social Services

alt=“ “

Vacant Seat

2 members by the Federally Qualified Health Centers

alt=“ “

Dwayne Butler

Chief Executive Officer
Betty Jean Kerr People’s Health Centers

alt=“ “

Alan Freeman

President & Chief Executive Officer
Affinia Healthcare

2 Members by the Local Hospitals

alt=“ “

Candace Jennings

Regional President
SSM Health – St. Louis

alt=“ “

Rich Liekweg

President & Chief Executive Officer
BJC HealthCare

1 Member by the Local Medical Schools

alt=“ “

James P. Crane, MD

Associate Vice Chancellor for Special Projects
Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine